Wanderer’s Life

Eldborg • August 13th • 13:00

Ralph Vaughan Williams' Songs of Travel explore the life stages of a wanderer and vagabond, as depicted in the poetry of Robert Louis Stevenson he set the music to. Despite being a beloved piece and considered one of Williams’ masterpieces, it has not often been performed in its entirety in Iceland. However, Ólafur Freyr Birkisson and Ingunn Hildur Hauksdóttir will perform the piece at Seigla’s latter noontime concert in Eldborg.

Joining them, Sólveig Vaka Eyþórsdóttir violinist and Erna Vala pianist perform Johannes Brahms' Sonata for Piano and Violin in A Major. Brahms composed the sonata while staying in Switzerland in the summer of 1886. He was inspired by his surroundings and said the melodies flowed so freely that he had to be careful not to step on them. The sonata is incredibly lyrical and beautiful, and exudes a unique positivity, which is not necessarily what most people associate with Brahms' music. This makes it all the more wonderful.

    Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958):

    Songs of Travel

  1. The Vagabond
  2. Let Beauty Awake
  3. The Roadside Fire
  4. Youth and Love
  5. In Dreams
  6. The Infinite Shining Heavens
  7. Whither Must I Wander?
  8. Bright is the Ring of Words
  9. I Have Trod the Upward and the Downward Slope

    Johannes Brahms (1833-1897):

    Sonata for Piano and Violin in A Major no. 2 Op. 100

  1. Allegro amabile
  2. Andante tranquillo - Vivace - Andante - Vivace di più - Andante - Vivace
  3. Allegretto grazioso (quasi andante)
  • facebook
  • instagram
  • youtube